Media Literacy for Safe & Healthy Choices – Impact of Media on Nutrition (Upper Elementary)
December 6, 2016
Show all

Media Literacy for Safe and Healthy Choices curriculum only (Upper Elementary)


12 integrated lessons divided into three units, media, handouts, teacher’s scripts

Lessons include:

1-5 Violence

6-9 Substance use

10-12 Nutrition


Media Literacy for Safe & Healthy Choice is a media literacy/health promotion curriculum for children in grades 4-6, designed to promote media literacy core skills and reduce risk for violence, bullying, poor nutrition, and alcohol and tobacco use problems. The program develops students’ media-literacy beliefs, knowledge and skills, to help them critically evaluate media related to violence, bullying, alcohol, tobacco and non-nutritional eating, while encouraging pro-social skills that promote healthy choices and positive uses of media.

The *evidenced based curriculum includes 12 integrated lessons, divided into three units: media and violence/ bullying, media and tobacco/alcohol, media and nutrition. While the evaluated effects of the 12 lessons are cumulative, units can be taught independently by guidance, health, library/media, and classroom teachers, as well as multidisciplinary teams.

Download Media Literacy Safe & Healthy Choices Curriculum Fast Facts

*Training for implementation of Media Literacy for Safe & Healthy Choices, is required for fidelity to the curriculum’s evidence based status on Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) and the National Registry of Evidence Based Programs and Practices (NREPP).  www.nrepp.samhsa

Our students are responding very positively to the curriculum. It is very easy to use.”

 Teacher, Chester Academy, New Hampshire

Additional information
Curriculum Only

Curriculum only

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Media Literacy for Safe and Healthy Choices curriculum only (Upper Elementary)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *